Build your own hamster cage – photo guide

IMG_4904

Hazel’s cage. Can you find her in the picture?

If you have seen Hazels big hamster cage in some of my posts and you have wondered how we have built it then have a look at the following pictures!

I can’t give any detailed step-by-step description as I my boyfriend has done most of the work :) But maybe some of you can find some inspiration to build your very own big cage for your furry little friend.

Here we go.

5 HAZEL 8 9 13 photo(3)

Let me know if you are interested in some more detailed information about how this cage has been built or what material we have used! I’m sure Ross is more than happy to help as he is really proud of his little project :)

Tagged: , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Build your own hamster cage – photo guide

  1. dou dou February 24, 2013 at 16:40 Reply

    Reblogged this on dou ♥ dou and commented:
    Now that is a hamster cage!

  2. Pat February 25, 2013 at 13:31 Reply

    A cage any hamster would be proud (and happy) to call home!

  3. shootingvienna March 1, 2013 at 13:38 Reply

    Wow great photo guide and your hamster sure is lucky :)

  4. Stephanie March 23, 2013 at 02:45 Reply

    How do you deal with the problem of urine? Or do yours have a specific spot they go and you placed something there?

    • babblepie March 23, 2013 at 13:34 Reply

      Hey Stephanie,
      Hazel usually pees in one corner that is close to where she sleeps. I always put a piece of poly pocket there ( i fold it up a little bit so that it covers the wall as well) and some sheets of kitchen roll on top. The sheets I change once a week. Very easy, quick and clean :)

  5. Lacey May 23, 2013 at 14:46 Reply

    Stephanie, this is truly amazing! I’ve been browsing for a new cage since the pet store sold me one that is way too small. You have inspired me to design my own. I am fortunate to be married to a woodworker. :) My hamster too has a chosen corner to pee, but he kinda just poops anywhere. My question is, how often do you change out the bedding? I do once a week now but with that much space, I’m thinking more like once a month would be sufficient. Also, did y’all make the ramps and water bottle holder as well? Any tips on that? I’m worried about adhesives or anything that would be toxic cause my little guy loves to chew.

    • Lacey May 23, 2013 at 14:47 Reply

      I’m sorry, I meant babblepie!

  6. petproductsbyroyal June 26, 2013 at 01:58 Reply

    This is an awesome looking hamster cage!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

